KISS – Alive!

KISS – Alive! [Remastered] (1997, Casablanca Records/Mercury Records)
Original Release: 1975, Casablanca Records

1. “Deuce” … 3:44
2. “Strutter” … 3:17
3. “Got to Choose” … 3:35
4. “Hotter Than Hell” … 3:12
5. “Firehouse” … 3:59
6. “Nothin’ to Lose” … 3:29
7. “C’mon and Love Me” … 2:53
8. “Parasite” … 3:22
9. “She” … 6:55

1. “Watchin’ You” … 3:40
2. “100,000 Years” … 11:59
3. “Black Diamond” … 5:51
4. “Rock Bottom” … 3:36
5. “Cold Gin” … 5:26
7. “Rock and Roll All Night” … 4:06
8. “Let Me Go, Rock ‘n’ Roll” … 5:46

Paul Stanley – Vocals, Guitar
Gene Simmons – Vocals, Bass
Ace Frehley – Guitar
Peter Criss – Drums, Vocals

Produced by: Eddie Kramer

This is one of those albums where there’s really not a whole lot left to say on the subject. It’s considered one of the best rock albums of all time and is perhaps THE greatest live album of all time. There’s a lot of fire and energy to these songs that wasn’t captured on the studio albums and that’s what helped prove to people that KISS was legit. Simply stated, this is the definitive KISS album and is a must have for anyone interested in the band.

Out of all the songs on this album, “Black Diamond” is my favorite track. The passion with which Peter performs this song gives me chills!

Highlights: “Deuce”, “Nothin’ to Lose”, “C’mon and Love Me”, “Parasite”, “She”, “100,000 Years”, “Black Diamond”, “Rock Bottom”

Buy Alive! at


Posted on July 17, 2009, in KISS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Obviously, being a diehard KISS fan, I grew up with this album but its not my favorite…..I prefer Alive II. This is a classic record with a bunch of classic tracks but talk about overdubs…..its a classic case of studio trickery.

    Heavy Metal Addiction

    • For a long time, ALIVE III was my favorite, but I think I have to go with the original these days.

      I own SYMPHONY as well (which I also think is great), but I didn’t review it during those two weeks because I had misplaced it (I’ve found it since).

  1. Pingback: METAL EXCESS Goes LIVE! « Metal Excess

  2. Pingback: CHEAP TRICK – At Budakon « Metal Excess

  3. Pingback: Concert Review: KISS w/ Buckcherry – 9/25/09 « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: