AEROSMITH – Classics Live!

Aerosmith – Classics Live! (1986, Columbia Records)

1. “Train Kept a Rollin'” … 3:20
2. “Kings & Queens” … 4:46
3. “Sweet Emotion” … 5:14
4. “Dream On” … 4:50
5. “Mama Kin” … 3:41
6. “Three Mile Smile/Reefer Head Woman” … 4:54
7. “Lord of the Thighs” … 7:05
8. “Major Barbra” … 4:03

Band:
Steven Tyler – Vocals
Joe Perry – Guitar
Jimmy Crespo – Guitar
Brad Whitford – Guitar
Rick Dufay – Guitar
Tom Hamilton – Bass
Joey Kramer – Drums

Produced by: Paul O’Neill, Tony Bongiovi

I didn’t buy this album myself. I was borrowing it from my girlfriend back in 2000 along with Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon and Alice In Chains’ Nothing Safe: Best of the Box, but we broke up and they never made their way back to her. Oh well, I don’t mind… Thanks, Candice!

A bit on the short side for a live album isn’t it? Eight songs and “Major Barbra” isn’t even live! It’s a studio track leftover from the Get Your Wings sessions. Not really anything special, in my opinion. As for the rest, as short as it is, it’s a good showing. These songs were record between 1977-1983 and “Kings & Queens” and “Dream On” are the most spirited and energetic songs of the bunch. Perhaps if the album was longer, it’d be a strong recommend, but it’s not an album I would go out my way for when there are a number of other live Aerosmith albums available.

I never had the jewel case or booklet, just the CD, and I couldn’t find any concrete info online as to who exactly played on this album, but judging by what I have read, it’s a safe bet Rick Dufay (Brad Whitford’s replacement) played and it’s a lock that Jimmy Crespo (steeping in for Joe Perry) did as well.

And yup, that’s Jon Bon Jovi’s cousin, Tony, who produced parts of this album.

Highlights: “Kings & Queens”, “Dream On”, “Three Mile Smile/Reefer Head Woman”, “Lord of the Thighs”

www.aerosmith.com
www.myspace.com/aerosmith

Buy Classics Live! at Amazon.com

Posted on July 14, 2009, in Aerosmith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I bought this when it come out because I thought it was going to be a live album from the DONE WOTH MIRRORS tour that I had just seen. It ended up being a tape I barely played except for Mama Kin, Dream On and Sweet Emotion. Even today, I own the CD but I think I played it once.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com

  1. Pingback: METAL EXCESS Goes LIVE! « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

