VAN HALEN – 5150

Van Halen – 5150 (1986, Warner Bros. Records)

1. “Good Enough” … 4:04
2. “Why Can’t This Be Love” … 3:47
3. “Get Up” … 4:37
4. “Dreams” … 4:54
5. “Summer Nights” … 5:06
6. “Best of Both Worlds” … 4:48
7. “Love Walks In” … 5:11
8. “5150” … 5:44
9. “Inside” … 5:02

Band:
Sammy Hagar – Vocals, Guitar
Eddie Van Halen – Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Michael Anthony – Bass, Backing Vocals
Alex Van Halen – Drums, Percussion

Produced by: Mick Jones, Don Landee, Van Halen

Ladies and gentlemen, David Lee Roth has left the building!

I prefer Roth-era Van Halen, but Van Hagar kicked off to a very promising start with this release, which I would rank right behind For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge for the Hagar albums.

“Why Can’t This Be Love”, “Love Walks In” and “Dreams” had been three of my favorite Van Halen songs since before I was even heavily into the band. It spelled out the change in the direction towards an adult contemporary sound the band would explore even more on the slightly disappointing OU812, but they are still great songs.

“Best of Both Worlds” is another VH classic, regardless of which era you prefer and “Get Up” is a tremendous rocker which would’ve been a great album opener.

This was the last VH album I needed to complete my collection and I got it probably 5 years ago or so. Well, honestly, I still have never picked up the Gary Cherone fronted Van Halen III, but I’ve heard enough to know it’s horrible and that I’ll probably never pick it up. I held off for so long just because I was so familiar already with “Love Walks In”, “Dreams”, “Why Can’t This Be Love” and “Best of Both Worlds” that I was in no urgent rush to hear the rest.

The album would eventually go platinum six times over and was Van Halen’s FIRST album to hit #1 on the Billboard charts.

Highlights: “Why Can’t This Be Love”, “Get Up”, “Dreams”, “Summer Nights”, “Best of Both Worlds”, “Love Walks In”

www.van-halen.com

Posted on June 28, 2009, in Van Halen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m a Diamond Dave guy and I was broken when Dave left VH. VH was on MTV every hour and 1984 was such a huge album that you couldn’t escape the machine. They switched to Sammy at the height of their success and some could argue that they got even bigger with more albums sold and more hit single.

    5150 came out in ’85 and I was knee deep into whatever was on radio, MTV and the Rock mags so I bought the record on vinyl and cassette when it came out. I had to hear what VH sounded like with the guy that sang ‘I Can’t Drive 55’ and ‘Heavy Metal’. What a record! If your going to replace your popular original singer and make a new record, this is how you do it. Saw the tour in Providence, great show!

    I’m still a DLR guy but I like Van Hagar just as much.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com

  2. This is my favorite Van Halen and I know I’m not the only person that feels that way. While “Why Can’t This Be Love”, “Dreams” and “Best of Both Worlds” might not reach the heights of “Jump”, “Panama” and “Hot for Teacher” it’s the rest of this album that is better than your typical covers and instrumentals filler “Summer Nights”, “Love Walks In”, “5150″ and “Good Enough” could all been singles as well.

    The weakest tracks are the ones that sound like they were wrote before Roth left “Get Up” and “Inside”. But this is one of the few album I never hit the forward button on.

  3. Dang
    I just typed a whole long message, but when I tried to submit it my browser hung.
    Was it somehow saved or do I need to retype the whole thing?

  1. Pingback: VAN HALEN – OU812 « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

