WINGER – IV

Winger – IV (2006, Shrapnel Records)

1. “Right Up Ahead” … 5:07
2. “Blue Suede Shoes” … 3:46
3. “Four Leaf Clover” … 4:18
4. “M16” … 3:57
5. “Your Great Escape” … 3:55
6. “Disappear” … 3:49
7. “On A Day Like Today” … 6:24
8. “Livin’ Just To Die” … 3:40
9. “Short Flight To Mexico” … 4:18
10. “Generica” … 6:33
11. “Can’t Take It Back” … 5:07

Band:
Kip Winger – Lead Vocals, Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Keyboards
Reb Beach – Guitar, Backing Vocals
John Roth – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Cenk Eroglu – Keyboards, Guitar
Rod Morgenstein – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Denny McDonald – Backing Vocals
Paula Winger – Backing Vocals

Produced by: Kip Winger

I have Winger’s debut album, and I like it, but I never cared enough to follow up with In the Heart of the Young or Pull. I like Kip’s voice, but the band had too much of an progressive rock/metal influence that kept me at bay.

Nonetheless, I took the chance on this album because I really liked “Generica” when it was posted online. The band doesn’t really change my mind here and in fact, I find this album to be a bit on the bland side as the progressive influence is even stronger here and the music is quite serious (no pop metal gems like “Seventeen” or “Can’t Get Enuff”).

It’s not all bad, there are a few songs I like, but for an album I didn’t expect much from in the first place, I still felt letdown. I never pull this one out to listen to.

Popular comic book artist Ethan Van Sciver drew the cover and the story goes that he hid something devious (possibly filthy) in the art, but I sure can’t see anything.

Highlights: “Four Leaf Clover”, “Your Great Escape”, “Disappear”, “Generica”, “Can’t Take It Back”

www.wingertheband.com
www.myspace.com/wingertheband

Posted on June 15, 2009, in Winger and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I also liked Winger’s first album but didn’t really care enough to follow up on their later music. There wasn’t anything “outstanding” about their music to hold my interest long enough.

  2. The debut was a good album, very big back in my high school days. So was In The Heart Of The Young but Winger had gotten the Beavis & Butthead stigma attachd to them and they couldn’t shake it. Pull is a great album, maybe their best and worth checking out.

    I couldn’t get into Winger IV, to me it was very boring. I wasn’t expecting the old 80s sound but I was hoping that some of it would creep in and blend with the modern direction Kip took the band here.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com

  1. Pingback: WINGER – Karma « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

