SAXON – Into the Labyrinth

Saxon – Into the Labyrinth (2009, SPV/Steamhammer Records)

1. “Battalions of Steel” … 6:34
2.”Live to Rock” … 5:30
3. “Demon Sweeney Todd” … 3:51
4. “The Letter” … 0:42
5. “Valley of the Kings” … 5:03
6. “Slow Lane Blues” … 4:08
7. “Crime of Passion” … 4:04
8. “Premonition in D Minor” … 0:40
9. “Voice” … 4:35
10. “Protect Yourselves” … 3:56
11. “Hellcat” – 3:54
12. “Come Rock of Ages (The Circle is Complete)” … 3:52
13. “Coming Home” (Bottleneck Version) … 3:12

Band:
Biff Byford – Vocals
Paul Quinn – Guitar
Doug Scarratt – Guitar
Nibbs Carter – Bass
Nigel Glockler – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Matthias Ulmer – Keyboards

Produced by: Charlie Bauerfeind

One of 2009’s strongest releases is now in my possession! I’ve been aware of Saxon for a long time, and I’ve been tempted so many times over the years to pick up one of their albums, but they always seemed so expensive either online or in stores, that I never got around to it.

I kept hearing so many positives things about this album, I put it on my list of “wants” earlier this year and finally got around to buying it a month ago or so and it’s blowing me away. This is a classic NWOBHM release… in 2009!

Biff Byford’s vocals are great and the band delivers some great old school metal on songs like “Battalions of Steel” and “Valley of the Kings”, but they also try their hand at blues rock and succeed at that as well with “Coming Home”. “Voice” is my favorite song on the album though, I can’t get it out of my head.

I can’t believe I’ve been missing out on Saxon!

Highlights: “Battalions of Steel”, “Live to Rock”, “”Valley of the King”, “Crime of Passion”, Voice”, “Come Rock of Ages (The Circle is Complete)”, “Coming Home” (Bottleneck Version)

www.saxon747.com
www.myspace.com/planetsaxon

Posted on June 13, 2009, in Saxon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So far this is my album of the year. Saxon is one of my favorite bands and they have been on a major resurgence since 1997’s Unleash The Beast. Into The Labyrinth has so many great songs that are a blend of classic NWOBHM, Power Metal and Blues Rock. This albu, has been in my weekly rotation since New Year’s!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com

  2. One of the most consistent rock bands ever imo!

  1. Pingback: The Top 10 Albums of 2009 « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

