THE LAST VEGAS – Whatever Gets You Off

The Last Vegas – Whatever Gets You Off (2009, Eleven Seven Music)

1. “Whatever Gets You Off” … 3:48
2. “I’m Bad” … 3:38
3. “High Class Trash” … 3:33
4. “Loose Lips” … 4:24
5. “Apologize” … 5:28
6. “Cherry Red” … 3:16
7. “Another Lover” … 3:58
8. “Dirty Things You Do” … 3:22
9. “White Lies” … 5:16
10. “Love Me Bad” … 5:19
11. “Outta My Mind” … 3:03

Band:
Chad Cherry – Vocals
Adam Arling – Guitar
Nat Arling – Guitar
Danny Smash – Bass
Johnny Wator – Drums

Produced by: Marti Fredrikson, DJ Ashba, Nikki Sixx and The Last Vegas

One of rock’s most promising young bands is back again with their second release in just as many years, this time with major label support from Eleven Seven Music (the home of Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Drowning Pool, SIXX:AM, Trapt, Charm City Devils).

I’m slightly disappointed by the track listing though. 6 of the 11 songs on this album are from their 2008 self-released and self-titled album. “Love Me Bad” is a reworking of “Love Me (When I’m Bad)” from last year’s album and “Whatever Gets You Off”, “I’m Bad”, “Apologize”, “Cherry Red” and “Dirty Things You Do” are the only brand new songs.

I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to bother buying this CD, because of that fact, but the album can be found for around $7-9, so it was worth the risk to just to hear the new songs and also to own “I’m Bad”, which is my favorite song from them. Though it’s not an uncommon practice to see bands re-release or re-record their indie material for their major label debut, it’s still a bit of a letdown for listeners who were already following the band.

With that gripe out of the way, let’s focus on the new songs (which Nikki Sixx, DJ Ashba and/or Marti Fredrikson had a hand in writing), which are all good and fit right in with the older songs. The funny thing is, most of my favorite songs from last year’s release, didn’t even make it this album, so in my opinion, the would’ve been even stronger if they were included.

As it is, the album is full of solid garage/glam hard rock but the new songs are best on the album (except for “Cherry Red”, which kinda fell flat for me) with “Whatever Gets You Off”, “I’m Bad” and “Dirty Things You Do” getting constant spins from me.

Highlights: “Whatever Gets You Off”, “I’m Bad”, “High Class Trash”, “Apologize”, “Dirty Things You Do”, “Love Me Bad”

www.thelastvegas.com
www.myspace.com/thelastvegas

Posted on June 1, 2009, in Last Vegas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

