AEROSMITH – Nine Lives

Aerosmith – Nine Lives (1997, Columbia Records)

1. “Nine Lives” … 4:01
2. “Falling in Love (Is Hard on the Knees)” … 3:25
3. “Hole in My Soul” … 6:10
4. “Taste of India” … 5:53
5. “Full Circle” … 5:00
6. “Something’s Gotta Give” … 3:36
7. “Ain’t That a Bitch” … 5:25
8. “The Farm” … 4:27
9. “Crash” … 4:25
10. “Kiss Your Past Good-Bye” … 4:31
11. “Pink” … 3:55
12. “Attitude Adjustment” … 3:44
13. “Fallen Angels” … 8:16

Band:
Steven Tyler – Lead Vocals, Harmonica, Keyboard, Percussion, Hammered Dulcimer
Joe Perry – Guitar, Backing Vocals, Dulcimer, Slide Guitar
Brad Whitford – Guitar
Tom Hamilton – Bass, Chapman stick
Joey Kramer – Drums

Produced by: Aerosmith and Kevin Shirley

This was my first Aerosmith album and it was just a weird time for me in general what with being in high school and all. I used to come home and listen to this album everyday so it takes me back to those early high school years whenever I hear this.

Definitely not one of Aerosmith’s best. Half the tunes are good, the rest is trash and I’m not a fan of the “taste of India” (if you’ll pardon the pun) that the band gave this album. “Hole in My Soul” and “Falling in Love (Is Hard on the Knees)” are really good Pump/Get a Grip-era Aerosmith tunes though.

Aerosmith has done some great commercial hard rock, but they’re always better when they just stick with the bluesy hard rock and this album was far from that sound and should probably only be picked up by completists. But hey, this album went double platinum in the middle of the alternative rock scene, so what do I know?

Highlights: “Falling in Love (Is Hard on the Knees)”, “Hole in My Soul”, “Full Circle”, “Ain’t That a Bitch”, “Crash”, “Kiss Your Past Good-Bye”, “Fallen Angels”

www.aerosmith.com
www.myspace.com/aerosmith

Posted on May 24, 2009, in Aerosmith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This was your first Aerosmith album?

    Mine was “Toys In The Attic“.
    Do you have that one?

    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/music-promotion-videos/

  2. Yep, I have Toys. It took me YEARS after buying this one before I ever got around to getting it though.

    https://metalexcess.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/aerosmithtoysintheattic/

  3. I can’t believe this was your 1st Aerosmith record! Well you picked a good one to start with because every song on here is solid. I was so done with Aerosmith after PUMP and GET A GRIP because they went ballad crazy and I loved the fact that they went back to their 70s roots on this one and experimented a bit. The problem was that everyone was so used to Aerosmith pumping out the ballad hits and party rockers that any deviation from this was a problem. I started listening to the whole record from Day 1 and I knew, everytime it would come on, that if ‘Pink’ were released as a single then us diehard Aerofans would be subject to all the casual fans falling in love with the song. I was right! What was once a cool album track turned into a hit single and every chick that heard the song loved it.

    Saw the band on tour in Boston on New Year’s Eve 1997…..one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to…..a HUGE party complete with a party favors bag! I still have the bag and some confetti.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com/

  4. We all three have KISS-related avatars.

    >Saw the band on tour in Boston on New Year’s Eve 1997

    I saw them on their 1999 “Roar Of The Dragon” tour. It was a Japan only tour.

    I got an Aerosmith tour T-shirt written in Japanese. Maybe it’s valuable. 😉

  5. Steve, I was a late bloomer with music. I didn’t even own a CD player until 1996! My collection up until then were cassettes of movie soundtracks, Weird Al and Beach Boys.

    tokyo5, KISS rules and that’s why we have to represent. 😉

Leave a Reply

