Recent purchases

Man, I’ve been on a roll lately with buying music. And I’m not talkin’ iTunes. Nossir! I’m talking about that silver shiny disc that comes in a square plastic case with a little booklet that contains lyrics and artwork and band pics.

I don’t know, I just don’t get the rush of “HEY! NEW MUSIC!” when I think of downloading an album (even if they are usually a few bucks cheaper on iTunes) as compared to going out and finding a physical copy. I’m only 27, you’d think I would be embracing the iTunes era like all the other teens and 20 somethings, but I’m not.

Granted, I mostly have to use the internet to do my CD shopping anyway because Best Buy, Walmart, Target and FYE aren’t really cutting it when it comes to the music *I* want to hear…

Here’s what I’ve ordered in the last few days:

Thin Lizzy – Bad Reputation
Thin Lizzy – Jailbreak
Mercyful Fate – Melissa/In the Beginning
Saxon – Into the Labyrinth
The Last Vegas – Whatever Gets You Off
Tim “Ripper” Owens – Play My Game
Charm City Devils – Let’s Rock-N-Roll
Freakshow – s/t
Wildstreet – s/t

I should be getting the Lizzy & MF albums by Friday or Saturday and the rest should appear by the end of next week. Obviously, reviews will be coming once I feel I’ve gotten a good enough handle on the albums and man, is that list of “albums to review” still gigantic! I’ve got plenty of material even if I don’t receive/buy any new albums for the rest of the year.

Posted on May 20, 2009, in Blog Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just went on what is, for me, a CD-buying binge:

    -Heaven & Hell’s “The Devil You Know”
    -Queensryche, “American Soldier”
    -Halestorm, ’cause I dig chick metal singers.

    I haven’t fully evaluated all of them, but “The Devil You Know” is pretty fine stuff.

  2. I was tempted to buy the Queensryche album, just to have another new release because I have the extra $$$, but I’m not a big fan of them.

  3. Totally agree with you about CDs versus downloads. If you can alphabetize your collection by clicking a heading, you aren’t trying hard enough.

    Great blog btw.

  1. Pingback: Cover Art, Liner Notes, iTunes and Zunes « Blueshadow’s Bon Jovi Blog

Leave a Reply

