AC/DC – Ballbreaker

AC/DC – Ballbreaker (1995, East West Records)

1. “Hard As A Rock” … 4:31
2. “Cover You In Oil” … 4:32
3. “The Furor” … 4:10
4. “Boogie Man” … 4:07
5. “The Honey Roll” … 5:34
6. “Burnin’ Alive” … 5:05
7. “Hail Caesar” … 5:14
8. “Love Bomb” … 3:14
9. “Caught With Your Pants Down” … 4:14
10. “Whiskey On The Rocks” … 4:35
11. “Ballbreaker” … 4:31

Band:
Brian Johnson – Lead Vocals
Angus Young – Guitar
Malcolm Young – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Cliff Williams – Bass, Backing Vocals
Phil Rudd – Drums, Percussion

Produced by: Rick Rubin

There was a time when I was a HUUUUGE AC/DC fan. They were one of the first bands I got into alongside Poison, Bon Jovi and Guns N’ Roses back when I took a real interest in music in my teens.

My first AC/DC album was Live, and then I went on a spree ordering up when I could from Columbia House Music & BMG Music, in addition to find what I could around town. This was one I picked up in town and I was initially unsatisfied with what I heard.

I guess after hearing Back In Black, Highway to Hell, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap and The Razor’s Edge I was expecting something amazing. Well, Ballbreaker was quite a downer for me at the time, but I’ve matured enough that I can now appreciate the album for what it is: a decent AC/DC album. It does nothing wrong, but doesn’t really do anything particularly great and this album (and AC/DC burnout in general) is why I decided to skip out on their next release, Stiff Upper Lip.

There is one true standout though that conjures up the AC/DC of old: “Hard As A Rock”. And is it me or does “The Furor” seem really similar to “The Razor’s Edge”?

Highlights: “Hard As A Rock”, “Cover You In Oil”, “The Furor”, “Burnin’ Alive”, “Hail Caesar”, “Love Bomb”, “Ballbreaker”

www.acdc.com
www.myspace.com/acdc

Posted on May 20, 2009, in AC/DC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. They had to follow the mega-success of THE RAZOR’S EDGE with something and BALLBREAKER gets the dubious honor. I remember buying this the day it came out, with grunge in full swing, and people were flocking for it. Why? because AC/DC has always been about pure Hard Rock…..and that’s what killed this album. People were expecting another RAZOR’S EDGE and big hit singles but radio barely played it and MTV was doing Real World/Road Rules marathons. It’s a solid AC/DC record but it’s considered the “lost” record.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com/

    • THE RAZOR’S EDGE is my favorite AC/DC album. I bought it on cassette, but probably lost it/threw it out some time ago. I *almost* picked up the remastered CD at Walmart the other day for only $7.

Leave a Reply

