VINCE NEIL – Exposed

Vince Neil – Exposed (1993, Warner Bros. Records)

1. “Look in Her Eyes” … 5:51
2. “Sister of Pain” … 5:03
3. “Can’t Have Your Cake” … 3:57
4. “Fine, Fine Wine” … 4:12
5. “The Edge” … 4:54
6. “Can’t Change Me” … 4:41
7. “Set Me Free” … 4:04
8. “Living Is a Luxury” … 5:40
9. “You’re Invited (But Your Friend Can’t Come)” … 4:23
10. “Gettin’ Hard” … 4:38
11. “Forever” … 5:12

Vince Neil – Vocals
Steve Stevens – Guitar, Bass
Vik Foxx – Drums

Produced by: Ron Nevison

By 1993, Vince Neil was already out of Motley Crue and had snagged himself a solo record deal with Warner Bros. The album is very much like what you would hope a Vince Neil-led Motley album would sound like, as opposed to 1994’s alternative rock lovefest that was Motley Crue.

If I didn’t know it was a solo disc, I would swear this was Motley. The albums is oozing with their typical sleazy sex-driven lyrics and dirty glam sound. Quite a rarity for 1993, though the album at least initially did well debuting at #13 on the Billboard charts. The quality and sound of the album cannot be attributed only to Neil though. He often played a small role in the creative process with Motley and on this album he aided in songwriting by the likes of Steve Stevens, Jack Blades and Tommy Shaw.

I’m not a big fan of the Blades/Shaw-penned “Can’t Change Me”. Reminds me too much of Motley’s “Time for a Change”, which I also didn’t like, but if you’re in the mood for Motley and don’t wanna spin Motley Crue, try this one instead. A surprisingly strong debut.

Rhythm guitarist Dave Marshall and future Ratt bassist Robbie Crane were featured in the album’s insert and were a part of the band on the preceding tour, but did not actually join until the album was already recorded.

Highlights: “Look in Her Eyes”, “Sister of Pain”, “Fine, Fine Wine”, “Living Is a Luxury”, “You’re Invited (But Your Friend Can’t Come)”, “Forever”

Posted on May 15, 2009, in Vince Neil and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i really wish this project could’ve lasted longer, every song on the album is great and steve stevens is unbelievable on it.
    also, i’ve seen vince live a few times and no steve, no exposed songs… disappointments all around.

    anyhow, you should’ve mentioned that you’re invited (but your friend can’t come) was in the movie Encino Man. that’s how i found out about it and fell in love with it.

  2. I remember ‘You’re Invited (But Your Friend Can’t Come)’ getting a ton of airplay because of the movie while ‘Sister Of Pain’ was getting serious MTV rotation. Vince won the battle against Motley because both his solo records sounded just like what the next Motley Crue record with him might have sounded like. I like that Crorabi Crue album but Vince’s voice was the identifiable sound of Crue.

    Now I have to pull this out to for a fresh spin…..wasn’t this and CARVED IN STONE re-released in the last few years?

    Heavy Metal Addiction

    • I wasn’t aware of the reissues, but yeah, it looks like Beyond and then later Eagle reissued both albums. I’ve never heard anything from Carved In Stone. Bad reviews have always kept me away from it.

      • carved in stone isnt nearly as bad as critics made it out to be….better than any solo projects from nikki & tommy thats for damn sure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: