MEGADETH – So Far, So Good… So What!

Megadeth – So Far, So Good… So What! (1988, Capitol Records/Combat Records)

1. “Into the Lungs of Hell” … 3:29
2. “Set the World Afire” … 5:47
3. “Anarchy in the U.K.” … 3:00
4. “Mary Jane” … 4:24
5. “502” … 3:27
6. “In My Darkest Hour” … 6:16
7. “Liar” … 3:20
8. “Hook in Mouth” … 4:40

Band:
Dave Mustaine – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Jeff Young – Guitar
David Ellefson – Bass, Backing Vocals
Chuck Behler – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Steve Jones – Guitar (“Anarchy in the U.K.”)

Produced by: Dave Mustaine and Paul Lani

I’ve been on record for a long time that I prefer 90s & current Megadeth over 80s Megadeth. Dave always came up with some great songs for EACH of the albums, but he didn’t deliver a great album until 1992’s Countdown to Extinction, in my opinion.

I’ve always appreciated the anger, violence, cynicism and pessimistic views all Megadeth albums have brought to the CD player, but everything up to 1990’s Rust In Peace has been really hard for me to get into as whole.

I will say this though, the instrumental opener “Into the Lungs of Hell” is awesome and so is “In My Darkest Hour”, which is one of my favorite ‘deth songs. It’s actually the song that got me into the band because I heard it on ‘Decline of the Westerin Civilization Part II: The Metal Years’ and the song was quickly Napster’d (this was 1998 afterall) and eventually it let me to a Megadeth album hunt.

Anyway, the only other song that sticks out is “Set the World Afire”. The rest just seems very unfocused, especially “Hook in Mouth” and “502”. Pieces of “Liar” remind me of “Skin O’ My Teeth” from Countdown to Extinction.

www.megadeth.com
www.myspace.com/megadeth

Posted on April 15, 2009, in Megadeth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I always thought this was the “forgotten” Megadeth record because it’s sandwiched between PEACE SELLS and RUST IN PEACE. It’s still a great album with some classic songs like ‘In My Darkest Hour’ but there’s that cover tune on there and it breaks up the album’s flow early. I hate it when bands do that!

    BTW, I have to contend that RUST IN PEACE is better than COUNTDOWN, probably because I was right in the thick of things when RUST came out. Either way, 2 awesome records!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://hardrockheavymetal.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

