DEF LEPPARD – Yeah!

Def Leppard – Yeah! (2006, Mercury Records/Island Records)

1. “20th Century Boy” – T.Rex … 3:41
2. “Rock On” – David Essex … 2:53
3. “Hanging on the Telephone” – Blondie … 2:23
4. “Waterloo Sunset” – The Kinks … 3:38
5. “Hell Raiser” – Sweet … 3:20
6. “10538 Overture” – Electric Light Orchestra … 4:31
7. “Street Life” – Roxy Music … 3:26
8. “Drive-In Saturday” – David Bowie … 4:07
9. “Little Bit of Love” – Free … 2:34
10. “The Golden Age of Rock ‘n’ Roll” – Mott the Hoople … 3:28
11. “No Matter What” – Badfinger … 2:57
12. “He’s Gonna Step on You Again” – John Kongos … 4:05
13. “Don’t Believe a Word” – Thin Lizzy …  2:19
14. “Stay with Me” – Faces … 4:30
[Target Exclusive Bonus Tracks]
15. “Action” [live] – Sweet … 4:05
16. “When I’m Dead and Gone” – McGuinness Flint … 3:18

Band:
Joe Elliott – Lead Vocals, Piano
Phil Collen – Guitar, Backing vocals, Lead Vocals (“Stay with Me”)
Vivian Campbell – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Rick Savage – Bass, Backing Vocals
Rick Allen – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Justin Hawkins – Backing Vocals (“Hell Raiser”)

Produced by: Def Leppard

I always thought this album was underrated. It’s a mostly 70s glam cover album and it’s really fun to hear Def Leppard getting closer to their roots again.

This was the album of the Summer of ’06 for me and my woman. I had bought this album right before we went on a weekend trip to Panama City, Florida, to stay with my family in a condo they rented and we listened to it all the way there and back. I was surprised by how much my girl loved this album, with her especially getting into “Hanging on the Telephone” and “20th Century Boy”. Despite being covers, it converted her to being a Def Leppard fan.

I’ve seen lots of hardcore DL fans bash this album, everyone wants Pyromania 2 or even On Through the Night 2, and that’s all well and good, but this is still a pretty good hard rockin’ album and I definitely prefer it over 2008’s Songs from the Sparkle Lounge.

The album had a couple of different “exclusive” versions released. I ended up with the Target version, not realizing Walmart got a “bonus” EP packaged with their version. >=(

Highlights: “20th Century Boy”, “Hanging on the Telephone”, “Waterloo Sunset”, “10538 Overture”, “Drive-In Saturday”, “The Golden Age of Rock ‘N’ Roll”, “No Matter What”, “Don’t Believe a Word”

www.defleppard.com
www.myspace.com/defleppard

Posted on April 8, 2009, in Def Leppard and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey man, don’t worry about it. “When I’m Dead And Gone” is better than any of the songs on the Walmart bonus EP. Only Rick Savage’s version of Queen’s “Dear Friends” comes close. I can’t even find this version of “Yeah!” and I’ve been looking for some time now.

  2. I bought YEAH! when it came out despite my total disregard for cover songs. I’m a Def Leppard fan and I wanted to give it a chance so I went out and bought both the Target and Best Buy versions to get the exclusive bonus tracks. I spinned it enough but I didn’t really get into it because it was a covers album…..I also saw the tour twice in a year!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://hardrockheavymetal.wordpress.comtion

  1. Pingback: Def Leppard – Yeah! Bonus CD with Backstage Interviews « Metal Excess

  2. Pingback: Def Leppard – Mirror Ball: Live & More « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

