THE LAST VEGAS – The Last Vegas

The Last Vegas – The Last Vegas (2008, self-released)

Track Listing:
1. “High Class Trash” … 3:46
2. “So Young, So Pretty, So What” … 4:01
3. “Loose Lips” … 4:46
4. “Good Deal for Bad Times” … 2:58
5. “Velvet Cream” … 3:26
6. “Just One Look” … 5:36
7. “Room at the Top” … 3:45
8. “Another Lover” … 4:01
9. “White Lies” … 5:00
10. “The Cruelty” … 3:00
11. “Dead Roses” … 3:09
12. “Love Me (When I’m Bad)” … 5:21
13. “Outta My Mind” … 3:03

Band:
Chad Cherry – Vocals
Adam Arling – Guitar
Nate Arling – Guitar
Danny Smash – Bass
Johnny Wator – Drums

I had heard a really cool song on one of the local rock stations that had a strong 80s hair metal vibe. After listening to a few of the lyrics and going a Google search, I came up with nothing. So, eventually I figured out which station it was I had been listening to and hit up there play list and found out the song was The Last Vegas’ “I’m Bad”. I knew I had to check out this album, as was actually surprised when I went to their site to find out this 2008 self-titled release is actually their 2nd full album.

Anyway, a sign of the times, “I’m Bad” is available exclusively as an iTunes download… it’s not on this album! Just seems really odd to me to have an album and a single out, yet, the single isn’t on the album. But upon closer inspection, seems like this album was self-released and “I’m Bad” is a single released under Eleven Seven Music (the home of Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Trapt, SIXX:AM). Well that gives me hope. I’d love to see Eleven Seven Music President Nikki Sixx help with the writing/producing of their next album (not that they really need the help). A quick check reveals a new album will supposedly come out Spring 2009.

This release is being push more as a digital release, but I picked up the “limited pressing” digipak. I much prefer having a physical copy of music over a digital copy. So, despite my disappointment over not getting “I’m Bad”, I still really wanted to check out the band and they’re very good. How good? Good enough to score the opening slot for Motley Crue’s Saints of Los Angeles 2009 tour ! See how it all ties in together?

No songs jump out as “hair band-ish” as “I’m Bad”, but it’s all still a good mix of glam, sleaze and garage rock. Even a bit of southern rock and punk seeps in from this Chicago-based group. The album has a very rough feel and it’s a nice refreshing take from some of the slicker rock acts out there. It’s good time rock ‘n’ roll with a very loose “who cares” feel.

Highlights: “High Class Trash”, “So Young, So Pretty, So What”, “Velvet Cream”, “Just One Look”, “Room at the Top”, “The Cruelty”, “Love Me (When I’m Bad)”

www.thelastvegas.com
www.myspace.com/thelastvegas

Posted on March 2, 2009, in Last Vegas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

