BUCKCHERRY, AVENGED SEVENFOLD, PAPA ROACH, SAVING ABEL – 02/21/09

Buckcherry/Avenged Sevenfold/Papa Roach/Saving Abel (02/21/09, Kellogg Arena in Battle Creek, Michigan)

This past Saturday night I had the pleasure of getting to see a good ol’ rock ‘n’ roll show in Battle Creek. We (my fiancee and I) left here (Lansing) at about 4PM, even though the show didn’t start until 6:30, just to make sure we know where we were going and find our seats… which turned out to be general admission.

After a long wait in a sloooow moving line just to get into the actual arena, I was surprised by how small and kinda of old it was. Holds about 8,500 people and the show was reported to be a sell-out. Of course, the woman had to stop off and get her Papa Roach shirt. Papa Roach being the whole reason we went to this show. My original concert pick was Motley Crue/Hinder/Theory of a Deadman/The Last Vegas, which took place earlier in the month in Grand Rapids. It would’ve been our 3rd time seeing the Crue, but instead she talked me into seeing seeing Buckcherry and Papa Roach for a 2nd time (3rd for her when it comes to Papa Roach).

So anyway, it was a fun show. Here’s the breakdown:

Saving Abel

I don’t know much about this band. Despite my girl owning the CD, I’ve never got around to listening to it, though I was very familiar with “Addicted” from radio and my girl’s ring tone. Everyone was very fired up as soon as they lights went down and they heard the band start to play, but I get the feeling most people were just happy to finally hear music and didn’t so much about Saving Abel in particular. I guess they’re kind of a Nickelback “post grunge” rock band. Not really my thing. I pretty much just wanted them to play “Addicted” then get the heck off the stage.

I had more fun watching one of the guitarists, who was really into the whole show and going all out with mannerisms while playing like he was some heavy metal guitar player. Not knocking it, I thought it was fun.

Not exactly sure of the setlist, since I’m not familiar with their album, but I found this list online and it sounds right:

“In God’s Eyes”
“New Tattoo”
“Drowning (Face Down)”
“Addicted”
“18 Days”
“Beautiful You”

Papa Roach

The crowd favorite of the whole show was, by far, Papa Roach. Kinda makes me wonder how they get such low billing when touring with other bands (they were 3rd on the bill for Crue Fest too). Jacoby Shaddix’s energy is off the charts, just like it was at Crue Fest in Clarkston, MI. He ran into the crowd to sing “Lifeline”, pretty cool stuff. I see the band keeps going in a poppier direction with “Lifeline”. Not a fan of the other new song, “Hollywood Whore”. Just seems cliche at this point to bash brainless celebrity bimbos like Britney and Paris.

Setlist:

“Between Angels & Insects”
“…to Be Loved”
“Deadcell”
“Scars”
“Getting Away with Murder”
“Time Is Running Out”
“Lifeline”
“Forever”
“Hollywood Whore”
“Last Resort”

Avenged Sevenfold

Judging by reaction, A7X were the 2nd biggest band of the night. I think Avenged Sevenfold and Buckcherry are alternating on who is closing the shows. I’ve been missing the boat on Avenged Sevenfold, despite owning City of Evil. I bought 2007’s self-titled release in preparation for this show and it’s a good thing I did, they covered six songs from that album. I loved it. I was really hoping they would play “A Little Piece of Heaven”, which is my favorite song from their last album. I’m hearing they do it as an encore when they close the shows.

It was amazing to hear & see the band play. Great musicians and Synyster Gates has quickly become one of my favorite guitarists.

Setlist:

“Critical Acclaim”
“Afterlife”
“Beast and the Harlot”
“Scream”
“Dear God”
Synyster Gates solo
“Bat Country”
“Gunslinger”
“Unholy Confessions”
“Almost Easy”

Buckcherry

I really enjoy this band because they’re keeping the 80s sleaze factor intact and they delivered a career best (and one of my favorite albums from 2008) with Black Butterfly, but unfortunately, I think they turn off a lot of the “modern” metal/rock fans for the very reason that they are “old school” in sound. Most of the crowd seemed way more into Papa Roach & Avenged Sevenfold in terms of reaction and t-shirts being worn. Plus, I think by this point, there had been so much screaming, yelling and moshing (!!!) going on, the crowd was getting drained.

Still, it’s a blast watching guitarist Keith Nelson (who was dressed like a cross between Bruce Springsteen and Brian Johnson) and singer Josh Todd work the stage. Todd’s movements bring to mind Axl Rose, Steven Tyler, and Mick Jagger.

Unfortunately, we actually had to cut out early from their set (at least we got to beat all of the traffic, though we had to drive an hour back home through a terrible snowstorm), but we were able to see most of it.

The set list, obviously, I’m not totally sure of but I know they played the songs, even if I can’t remember the order:

“Tired of You”
“Broken Glass”
“Next 2 You”
“Ridin'”
“Rescue Me”
“Too Drunk…”
“Lit Up”
“Talk to Me”

I’m sure they finished up with “Sorry” and “Crazy Bitch”.

Overall, this was a great show. Saving Abel was the only downer. I just don’t think they fit in with these other bands. Papa Roach had tons of energy that the crowd matched, Avenged Sevenfold put on an excellent live show and are great musicians and Buckcherry brought the sleaze, attitude & swagger. What more could you ask for?

Posted on February 27, 2009, in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. chaoticanimalz

    I just saw this show (well it was Buckcherry, Papa Roach, and Rev Theory) at Mohegan Sun in CT last night and seeing they played the same set your thoughts on both of those bands are pretty dead on. Although I was actually somewhat disappointed in Buckcherry in that their set felt far too short and especially following Papa Roach seemed to lack the energy I’d expect of a headlining band. Anyway it’s been fun reading some of your other reviews as well, really enjoying your site!

  2. nice!!! im going to see all of them on april 17th at San Diego and im SUPER excited. I love Papa Roach and oviously i love avenged sevenfold but you said that saving abel kinda waz a downer darn i was hoping they’ll be good and I personally do not like buckcherry i think there trying too hard to get attention and they dont put on a good show at all i think it should be papa roach and avenged sevenfold headlining not buckcherry anyways, thanks for putting up the set lists!!!!

  3. chaoticanimalz, glad you’re liking the blog! Hope you’ll become a regular reader! 😉

    A7XLOVER, no problem. I don’t know why, I just love to document what band played what and it’s actually harder than you would think to find places online that accurately post set lists! I had to do most of this from memory! 😛

  4. Saw Papa Roach, Avenged Sevenfold, and Buckcherry (with Burn Halo opening) last night. I had originally come out to see Buckcherry as I love their stuff. But like chaoticanimalz I was very dissappointed by them. It sounded like a record onstage and it wasn’t as energetic as the other bands. My feet were hurting like hell so during their set we sat down and drank some water. I think had they been more engaging I would have been able to ignore my feet and enjoy their set.

    I am all about seeing Papa Roach and Avenged Sevenfold again, their sets really rocked!

  5. I saw this show in Belton, Tx a few weeks ago. Rev Theory opened not Saving Abel. They were actually pretty good. I’d have to say it was an A7X crowd though. Buckcherry came on as the headliner, which I, and at least have the crowd left before they came out.

    It was kind of cool because it was a Tuesday or Wednesday and I got home before 1:00 a.m. since I didn’t have to stay for the Bucks.

    The only downer is A7X played Dear God, not Gunslinger and they didn’t player Little Piece of Heaven. Which is really cool Live.

    I saw A7X headline the Chaos Tour last summer, AWESOME, longer set, bigger stage, lots more energy, and the encore…Little Piece of Heaven.

    Alright, A7X, time to hit the studio and come out with a new album, then come out with a live album that is not over produced.

  1. Pingback: Saving Abel – Miss America « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

