MONSTERS OF ROCK

Various Artists – Monsters of Rock (1998, Razor & Tie)

Track Listing:
1. “Cum on Feel the Noize” – Quiet Riot … 4:51
2. “Once Bitten Twice Shy” – Great White … 5:22
3. “Poison” – Alice Cooper … 4:30
4. “The Final Countdown” – Europe … 5:11
5. “Round and Round” – Ratt … 4:24
6. “Cherry Pie” – Warrant … 3:20
7. “Here I Go Again” – Whitesnake … 4:35
8. “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” – Poison … 4:20
9. “Seventeen” – Winger … 4:05
10. “Cult of Personality” – Living Colour … 4:54
11. “We’re Not Gonna Take It” – Twisted Sister … 3:39
12. “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin'” – Judas Priest … 5:08
13. “Nobody’s Fool” – Cinderella … 4:48
14. “Hold on Loosely” – .38 Special … 4:37
15. “Turn up the Radio” – Autograph … 4:34
16. “Sister Christian” – Night Ranger … 4:56

Ahh… The hair metal compilation that gave rise to all the rest of the imitators and countless sequels from Razor & Tie.

Razor & Tie initially pushed many of their compilations (love songs, country, 80s, etc.) through their 800 number. I remember many of these ads over on cable stations like TBS and WGN. I *think* there was even a 2-disc version of Monsters of Rock that was only available by ordering over the phone.

Anyway, tons of classics here, though I would argue the inclusion of .38 Special, Autograph, Night Ranger and Living Colour (I really hate “Cult of Personality” anyway). You can’t go wrong with these songs. Though I would eventually own all the albums that these songs were taken from, this was a great introduction for me to the genre when, up to that point, I had really only gotten heavy in GNR, Poison and Bon Jovi.

My fondest memory is playing this one constantly when my family moved from Virginia to Florida in June 1998. I had no friends and nowhere to go and this album received CONSTANT play in my room that summer. Also, Monsters of Rock gave me a great “I REMEMBER THAT SONG!” moment with Alice Cooper’s “Poison”. I had totally forgotten about that massive comeback hit for The Coop.

This album pretty much set the standard for pop metal comps and usually knockoff CDs basically just took this tracklisting and hit ‘shuffle’.

Posted on February 26, 2009, in Compilations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree with every word you’ve written here, including your exclusions — and I was FROM the ’80’s!

    I did notice there’s no “Stryper” in there… 😉
    They should have pulled the three songs you mentioned & put in something from Def Leppard’s “Pyromania,” & maybe some Aerosmith, Queen, Crue or Ac/Dc. My opinion.

    Seriously; this is the music of my high school years. One-hit-wonders like “The Final Countdown”… I’m always gonn’ love Ratt; they toured around here recently with Quiet Riot, Cinderella & a few other bands. Wish I had made it to that show.

    I did see Alice Cooper do the “Poison” thing at the Orpheum theater in Boston, w/ his guillotine, snakes, etc. His was one of the most theatrical performances I have ever seen (except perhaps Motley Crue’s “Girls” tour), & that one song still gets stuck in my head (in the good way) from time to time…

    “We’re not worthy!”
    “We’re not worthy!”
    “We’re not worthy!”

  2. Tamara, you’re one of the most awesome chicks ever. =) Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

