WHITE LION – The Best of White Lion

White Lion – The Best of White Lion (1992, Atlantic Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Wait” … 4:04
2. “Radar Love” … 5:58
3. “Broken Heart” … 4:10
4. “Hungry” … 3:56
5. “Little Fighter” … 4:24
6. “Lights And Thunder” … 8:09
7. “All You Need is Rock ‘N’ Roll” [Live] … 5:44
8. “When the Children Cry” … 4:24
9. “Love Don’t Come Easy” … 4:11
10. “Cry for Freedom” … 6:11
11. “Lady of the Valley” [Live] … 7:41
12. “Tell Me” … 4:30
13. “Farewell to You” … 4:21

Mike Tramp – Vocals
Vito Bratta – Guitars
James Lomenzo – Bass
Greg D’Angelo – Drums

Produced by: Michael Wagener (Tracks 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12), Richie Vito (Tracks 3, 9, 13)

My one and only White Lion album, and it was an early addition to my CD collection. I was inspired to pick it up because of “When the Children Cry”, which a friend of mine had turned me onto. Obviously, being a ‘best of’, you can’t really go wrong, especially since this was my first introduction to the band.

I remember this album very well as I would usually come home from school and fall asleep while listening to it every afternoon (as I did with Guns N’ Roses and Poison).

“Radar Love” is the worst song of the bunch, I don’t like this soft cover and I don’t like Golden Earring’s original either!

This was the final release from White Lion until 1999, when another hits compilation was released (on Cleopatra Records and this time featuring re-recordings of White Lion songs by Mike Tramp and an all-new band) . Mike Tramp continues to tour and record under the White Lion name, releasing Returning of the Pride in 2008. It was the first original studio album since 1991’s Mane Attraction.

Highlights: Seeing as how this is a ‘best of’, I think most of the songs are more than worthy… “Wait”, “Broken”, “Hungry”, “Little Fighter”, “Lights and Thunder”, “When the Children Cry”, “Love Don’t Come Easy”, “Cry for Freedom”, “Tell Me”, “Farewell to You”



Posted on February 13, 2009, in White Lion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have this CD, too. I like it but I can only listen to it halfway before I get tired of it. Mike Tramp sounds great, but his voice can be tiresome to listen to halfway thru the CD because there’s just so much emotion in his voice that it can get kind of overwhelming after awhile. Just my take on it.

  1. Pingback: WHITE LION – Pride « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: