JUDAS PRIEST – Demolition

Judas Priest – Demolition (2001, Atlantic Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Machine Man” … 5:35
2. “One on One” … 6:44
3. “Hell Is Home” … 6:18
4. “Jekyll and Hyde” … 3:19
5. “Close to You” … 4:28
6. “Devil Digger” … 4:45
7. “Bloodsuckers” … 6:18
8. “In Between” … 5:41
9. “Feed on Me” … 5:28
10. “Subterfuge” … 5:12
11. “Lost and Found” … 4:57
12. “Cyberface” … 6:45
13. “Metal Messiah” … 5:14

Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens – Vocals
K.K. Downing – Guitar
Glenn Tipton – Guitar
Ian Hill – Bass
Scott Travis – Drums

Produced by: Glenn Tipton

I was pretty excited about this release as I had been snatching up Judas Priest’s back catalog and they were quickly becoming one of my favorite bands. Even the absence of Rob Halford (the second album without his vocals) could not deter my enthusiasm. This was also my first “new” Priest CD.

I tried to get into it this album, I really did! I wanted both Halford’s solo band AND Judas Priest to be successful bands with great albums, but Priest just wasn’t up to it here. The album sounds very modern, and very metal, but not very Priest-like. Though I certainly respect’em for pushing forward and going for a heavier, more current sound.

I can’t knock it and say Demolition is “bad”, it’s just kinda there, kinda bland, but it does feature a few bright spots. No offense to Ripper, but I’m happy Rob is back in the group.

Highlights: “Hell Is Home”, “Close to You”, “In Between”


Posted on February 11, 2009, in Judas Priest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: