STEELHEART – Good 2B Alive

SteelHeart – Good 2B Alive (2008, SteelHeart Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Samurai” … 5:33
2. “LOL” … 4:03
3. “Buried Unkind” … 4:56
4. “Twisted Future” … 5:11
5. “Shine a Light for Me” … 6:00
6. “I Breathe” … 4:22
7. “Underground” … 4:45
8. “You Showed Me How to Love” … 6:07
9. “Good 2B Alive” … 5:53
10. “G2BA” [acoustic] … 5:24

Band:
Miljenko Matijevic – Vocals, Guitar, String Composer
Chris Risola – Guitar (did not play on album)
Bill Lonero – Guitar (did not play on album)
Rev Jones – Bass
Michael Humbert – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Uros Raskovski – Guitar
Sigve Sjursen – Bass
Edward Roth – Keyboard
Barbara Christman – Composer, Conductor
John Dirth – Trumpet
Bobby Reed – Flute, Clarinet
Joseph Edelberg, Anna Matijasic, Jenny Bifano, Alice Talbot, Karen Shinozaki, Cary Koh – Violin
Lind Ghidossi-Deluca, Don Erlich – Viola
Devon Malone, Joseph Hebert – Cello

Produced by: Miljenko Matijevic

I’ve always been aware of SteelHeart, but up until last year, outside of “Love Ain’t Easy”, I’ll Never Let You Go” and “Can’t Stop Me Lovin’ You”, I wasn’t too familiar with them. I was missing out on a lot!

I was able to track down their first two albums, SteelHeart and Tangled In Reins, and both albums are very good melodic hard rock with that late 80s sound (though they both were released in the early 90s). “Michael” Matijevic (he has since returned to his original first name of Miljenko) was one of the most powerful voices to come from the “hair” scene.

His voice is just as strong today. SteelHeart rebounded in 2006 with the excellent Just A Taste EP (featuring Tracks 2, 3, 4, plus “We All Die Young” from 1996’s Wait) and in 2008, their full-fledged studio album, Good 2B Alive shows Miljenko is back with a vengeance. Those who are maybe expecting a nostalgia release full of late 80s hard rock won’t find it here. Miljenko has worked long and hard on delivering a great modern melodic hard rock album.

I remember first hearing “LOL” on XM Radio’s Boneyard channel earlier this year and it blew me away. Why this song wasn’t all over mainstream rock radio, I don’t know. “Shine a Light for Me” and “Good 2B Alive” are definitely single worthy as well. Even my fiancee is enjoying these songs (especially “LOL”) and we have totally different tastes when it comes to rock (she’s into the newer, blander bands more than I am).

As mentioned earlier, Miljenko’s voice is still in fine form and he can hit those high notes whenever he wants, but he doesn’t spend the who album doing that.

There are two versions of “Good 2B Alive”. Track 9 is a full-on hard rock song with some orchestral arrangements and the Track 10 version (simply titled “G2BA” on my copy) is a more soulful, acoustic take featuring a choir. Both tracks are very cool, and sometimes when a band includes two versions of one song, it feels cheap and lazy, but the takes on them are so different, I appreciate the inclusion of both.

If I’m not mistaken, I believe this album was originally going to be called Samurai.

FUN FACT: This album was recorded in Charlottesville, Virginia, the home of SteelHeart Studios. I just think this is really cool seeing as how that’s just a little over an hour away from my birth city of Lynchburg. =) Hey, we’ve got Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters and now we have Miljenko Matijevic!

Highlights: All of it. Seriously, one of 2008’s best albums.

www.steelheart.com
www.myspace.com/steelheart

Posted on November 3, 2008, in Collection, Steelheart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. As Everyone whom has reviewed SteelHearts “Good 2B Alive”, You got it right on the money! Without going into to Much detail I have known Mili (aka Mike) since the inception of the original line up back in the early 80’s so I have seen the evolution throughout all the triumph and downfalls to emulate what is clearly not only SteelHearts best work, but most definitely the best work out of all that is put onto the table by anyone in a long time! I have a prediction that this album will lift Mili & his band STEELHEART out of obscurity and lift up the masses to a musical revolution that is the experience “Good 2B Alive”!!!!

  2. Thanks for the comments, Karl! This album definitely deserves to be on everyone’s radar.

  3. GOOD 2B Alive rocks, i think its my new addiction

  4. I completely agree with you. I’ve read so much, both from the media and those who call themselve “fans” about their dislike of the Good 2B Alive album. Lest they forget, the Beatles evolved, Robert Plant evolved. Not everyone was pleased, but the artist must follow the muse, and Mili’s muse is electrifying! I must admit that in the beginning, LOL wasn’t my favourite, but it grew on me like a fungus, and with respect to the video, the man’s humongous gazongas must be alotted their due respect. I’ve been around the block on a few motorcycles, but I would have totally barfed and crapped myself in the jump seat of that F-14!!

  1. Pingback: Steelheart – Steelheart « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

