IRON MAIDEN – The Number of the Beast

Iron Maiden – The Number of the Beast [Enhanced Edition] (1998, Sanctuary Records/Metal-Is Records)
Original Release: 1982, Capitol Records

Track Listing:
1. “Invaders” (3:22)
2. “Children of the Damned” (4:34)
3. “The Prisoner” (6:00)
4. “22 Acacia Avenue” (6:34)
5. “The Number of the Beast” (4:49)
6. “Run to the Hills” (3:50)
7. “Gangland” (3:47)
8. “Hallowed Be Thy Name” (7:11)

Band:
Bruce Dickinson – Lead Vocals
Dave Murray – Guitar
Adrian Smith – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Steve Harris – Bass, Backing Vocals
Clive Burr – Drums

Not only is this Iron Maiden’s brightest moment, IMO, but it’s also one of the greatest metal albums ever released. As good as the Di’Anno albums are, Bruce Dickinson’s arrival as lead singer took the band to even greater heights.

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son was my favorite Maiden album (and my first purchase, used), but once I heard this, it blew it out of the water.

Every song here is a heavy metal classic, though if pressed for an absolute favorite I’d have to go with the haunting “Children of the Damned”. Really not much else to say about this album that hasn’t been said throughout the years. A MUST HAVE for any true metalhead.

Produced by: Martin Birch

Highlights: The whole album

www.ironmaiden.com
www.myspace.com/ironmaiden

Posted on October 30, 2008, in Collection, Iron Maiden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. First off, love the site! “Seventh Son” was my first Maiden purchase, too (and my first Maiden concert, back in 1988/89). Still probably my favorite. “Number of the Beast” comes in 3rd, right behind “Powerslave” for me.

  2. Thanks for commenting, AJ. I love Powerslave as well. Those three Maiden albums make up my favorites.

    Haven’t seen’em live yet (but then there’s many bands I’ve never seen live), but I hope to someday if I can drag my fiancee along. 😉

  3. I believe it was the first METAL album I’ve ever heard, not so sure about it.
    Got the LP from my brother and fell in love.
    Til this day, it’s my fav Maiden album, a true classic!

  4. Ah, I agree with you on this but my top 3 are: 1. Somewhere In Time 2. Seventh Son of A Seventh Son 3. Piece of Mind

  5. Ah, Maiden headed to the top of their game, and it was more of a matter of timing than anything. A great new lead singer, a time of interest in what they were doing, and the dropping of a classic disc of NWOBHM. Their best song is here (IMO): Hallowed Be Thy Name, which foreshadowed their progressive direction more than anything. If you’re a metal fan, gotta have this one.

Leave a Reply

