SAVATAGE – Hall of the Mountain King

Savatage – Hall of the Mountain King (1987, Atlantic Records)

Track Listing:
1. “24 Hrs. Ago” … 4:56
2. “Beyond the Doors of the Dark” … 5:07
3. “Legions” … 4:57
4. “Strange Wings” … 3:45
5. “Prelude to Madness” … 3:13
6. “Hall of the Mountain King” … 5:55
7. “Price You Pay” … 3:51
8. “White Witch” … 3:31
9. “Last Dawn” …1:15
10. “Devastation” … 3:37

Band:
Jon Oliva – Lead Vocals, Piano
Criss Oliva – Guitar
Johnny Lee Middleton – Bass, Backing Vocals
Steve Wacholz – Drums
Robert Kinkel – Keyboards

Produced by: Paul O’Neill

My favorite Savatage release and one of my favorite albums ever. It was the first Savatage album I tried and that was because it was the cheapest Savatage album I could find at FYE one day. I think it had the “NICE PRICE” of $9.99. Score!

I was blown away by this album and I still am to this day. Creepy and atmospheric, nothing before or since by the band has come close to this release, IMO.

My favorite track is “Hall of the Mountain King” where Jon Oliva really goes insane.

Highlights: Everything, one of the best albums I’ve ever heard

Posted on October 23, 2008, in Collection, Savatage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It is their best album in my opinion too.

    Savatage is from my hometown in Florida.

    So is Roxx Gang.

    Nice new look to your site here, BTW.

    • Thanks, I felt it was time for a change. I know there’s a few eyesores here and there but I’ll get around to trying to fix that at some point (or give up and go back to the old look!).

  1. Pingback: TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA – Night Castle « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

