Book Review – ALICE COOPER, GOLF MONSTER: A Rock ‘n’ Roller’s Life and 12 Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict

Alice Cooper, Golf Monster: A Rock ‘n’ Roller’s Life and 12 Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict
(2007, Three Rivers Press)
by Alice Cooper with Keith and Kent Zimmerman

So about two weeks ago, with money to burn and a desire to read something more than a comic book or magazine, I headed off the bookstore and snatched up a few books, one of which was this 2008 paperback edition of Alice Cooper, Golf Monster (originally released in 2007 as a hardcover). When the book was first released, I couldn’t bring myself to spend the cash on it due to the usual high hardcover cost plus the fact that the book dealt alot with golf. Golfing just isn’t my thing and that’s something that even the king of shock rock is never going to change.

I love reading biographies and autobiographies and Alice is one of my favorite musicians so a book written by him is right up my alley, but Alice makes no bones about his love of golf and his intention to talk about it regularly in the book (just look at the book’s title). So I had to give a little to get a little. Each chapter is either dedicated to golf, his personal life, or music.

Though I read the entire book, as I said, I’m not a golf fan and I know nothing about golf. So a lot of the things he said went over my head or I found myself thinking “okay” and moving on. Alice does try to relate golf to a way of living life and the similarities of his music career though so it’s not TOTALLY like you’re reading two books at the same time.

I hate to say it, but at times Alice comes off as just a smidge full of himself when speaking of his celebrity, wealth and music career. No doubt, the guy is a legend and is definitely one of the most down to earth rock stars, but there was still a sense of “I’m Alice, I’m the man”.

He’s definitely led an interesting life though and has gotten to hang out with tons of interesting people: Keith Moon, Mickey Dolenz, Frank Sinatra, Mae West, Groucho Marx, Bob Hope, Jack Benny, and John Lennon are just a few of the names that pop up in the book.

There are also some really fun stories, such as Groucho Marx calling Alice over to his house in the middle of the night to keep him company and watch old movies together. My absolute favorite moment, though, was Alice speaking of his time in rehab where he had to clothesline a female patient to prevent her from destroying a TV set that had become the only thing that was keeping him from losing his mind. Absolutely hilarious!

All in all, I would say this is a decent book, but nothing great. There’s probably not *enough* golf talk for golf fans and there certainly wasn’t enough talk about Alice himself or his career for this music fan. If you’re a diehard Alice fan, I suggest you pick it up for a few entertaining nuggets, but I still await the day for a end-all, be-all bio on Alice. Unfortunately, it looks like it won’t be coming from Alice Cooper.

Posted on September 4, 2008, in Alice Cooper, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

