BUCKCHERRY – Buckcherry

Buckcherry – Buckcherry (1999, DreamWorks Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Lit Up” … 3:35
2. “Crushed” … 3:40
3. “Dead Again” … 3:24
4. “Check Your Head” … 4:32
5. “Dirty Mind” … 5:00
6. “For the Movies” … 4:34
7. “Lawless and Lulu” … 4:09
8. “Related” … 3:28
9. “Borderline” … 4:26
10. “Get Back” … 3:08
11. “Baby” … 4:27
12. “Drink the Water” … 4:18

Band:
Josh Todd – Vocals
Yogi Lonich – Guitar
Keith Nelson – Guitar
Jonathan Brightman – Bass
Devon Glenn – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Steve Jones – Background Vocals, Guitar
Kim Bullard – Keyboard

Produced by: Terry Date & Steve Jones

Ah, good ol’ Buckcherry. I remember rock sites and magazines were hailing them as the saviors of rock upon their arrival. A band that would bring back “true” rock & roll not seen since the glory days of Guns N Roses at the beginning of the decade. So is it the best debut since GNR’s Appetite for Destruction (as Metal Edge magazine said)? Nope.

It’s pretty good though. All the GNR similarities got me really excited for this album, but it was a bit of a letdown. Of course, if you’re expecting a band to compare to the peak years of GNR, you’re always going to be disappointed. It’s a half & half album for me. Half is filler (I never cared for “Lit Up”), half is good stuff. I do remember playing it a lot as soon as it came out and “Lit Up” was all over radio and “For the Movies” spent some time there as well.

Good, but nothing special, but hey, it was definitely better than the alternative rock, nu metal and rap-metal junk that MTV & radio was force-feeding everyone at the time.

And how ’bout that cover? Oh, how I stared at it… >=)

Highlights: “Crushed”, “Dead Again”, “Check Your Head”, “Dirty Mind”, “For the Movies”, “Lawless and Lulu”, “Borderline”

www.buckcherry.com
www.myspace.com/buckcherry

Posted on August 15, 2008, in Buckcherry, Collection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I remember all the magazines praising Buckcherry too. They were the next big thing that didn’t really happen. Solid debut but not timeless like APPETITE. This got a lot of airplay in RI. ‘Lit Up’ was the single but I remember hearing a lot of the other songs being played late night when the playlists weren’t as rigid.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://hardrockheavymetal.wordpress.com/

  2. hey i never heard of ya before but a friend showed me your song (everything) and i love that song. theres just this question i have. i like this guy and he is the one that showed me the song, and he said that it reminds him of me!!! so im lost, it wourld be great if u told me what hes trying to tell me! thank you!

  3. “Good, but nothing special” – that’s right, pure rock n’ roll without all the bullshit!
    Sure, it ain’t Appetite, but it’s one hell of a debut album!
    I’d give it 4/5.
    Love the other albums, Time Bomb & 15. Not as good and powerful as the first one, but they still rock.

    What do you think about the new one?
    I only heard couple of songs once, and I think it’s weak (one of the songs sound like a rip off of Lit Up, how lame is that?)

    Rock on
    Jim

  4. Thanks for all the comments, Jim!

    I love Black Butterfly. I have a review for it up already. I still haven’t heard Time Bomb. I should go give that one a shot just to say I’ve heard’em all. Was what that album’s single? Ridin’? I like that song.

  5. Hey!
    I like the song “everything”, but in general this album is worse than the old ones like time bomb for example.
    At least its still the solid rock we know from buckcherry.

  1. Pingback: BUCKCHERRY – All Night Long « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

