MOTLEY CRUE – Dr. Feelgood

Motley Crue – Dr. Feelgood (1989, Elektra Records; 1999, Motley Records/Beyond Music)

Track Listing:
1. “T. N. T. (Terror ‘N Tinseltown)” … :42
2. “Dr. Feelgood” … 4:50
3. “Slice of Your Pie” … 4:32
4. “Rattlesnake Shake” … 3:40
5. “Kickstart My Heart” … 4:48
6. “Without You” … 4:29
7. “Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)” … 4:12
8. “Sticky Sweet” … 3:52
9. “She Goes Down” … 4:37
10. “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” … 4:40
11. “Time for Change” … 4:45
BONUS TRACKS:
12. “Dr. Feelgood” [Demo] … 4:42
13. “Without You” [Demo] … 4:12
14. “Kickstart My Heart” [Demo] … 4:28
15. “Get It for Free” [Demo] … 4:14

Band:
Vince Neil – Vocals
Mick Mars – Guitar
Nikki Sixx – Bass
Tommy Lee – Drums

Produced by: Bob Rock

Oh how, I love remasters. Especially when they add demoes, b-sides and live cuts to’em. In that regard, KISS has failed me when they released their remasters. >=[ Anyway, I had heard the original ’89 album a few years before picking up the 1999 “Crucial Crue” edition. One of my best friends owned the original and I borrowed it for what must’ve been close to a year. I honestly hoped he had forgotten about it, but he asked for it back one day, so being the good friend I was, I obliged. It all worked out though ’cause now I have the reissue with the bonus tracks.

Of course I was aware of songs like “Dr. Feelgood”, “Kickstart My Heart” and “Without You” before ever listening to the album, but when I finally had heard the whole album for the first time, I was disappointed. I had started at the very beginning with Too Fast for Love with the ’99 reissues, and this album fell flat for me compared to what I had heard earlier.

This was Motley’s biggest album in terms of sales, but I just don’t get it. And people say Girls, Girls, Girls was too poppy and slick? Nephew, please, this is total pop metal. I’m not saying it’s not good, but it’s hardly one of Motley’s best, IMO. Motley’s signature sleaze seems to be missing here for the most part outside of “Dr. Feelgood”, “Kickstart My Heart”, and “She Goes Down”. Even “Slice of Your Pie”, which is right up my alley in terms of song titles and lyrics, just doesn’t work for me. And what’s up with the extensive use of female back-up singers (at least where the bonus tracks are concerned)? Gee, that Bob Rock sure does know how to neuter great rock bands, huh?

A few rock ‘n’ roll all-stars lended their voices as back-up singers on the album: Steven Tyler (“Sticky Sweet”), Jack Blades (“Sticky Sweet” & “Same Ol’ Situation”), Bryan Adams (“Sticky Sweet”), Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander & Rick Nielson (“She Goes Down”) and Skid Row (“Time for Change”).

Highlights: “Dr. Feelgood”, “Kickstart My Heart”, “Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)”, “Sticky Sweet”, “She Goes Down”

www.motley.com
www.myspace.com/motleycrue

Posted on July 14, 2008, in Collection, Motley Crue and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hello, your blog is great!! i have a blog too, if you don’t mind i will add your blog to my blolist in my page. If you want, you can do the same in your blogroll.

    http://www.radiorock369.blogspot.com

  2. Hm… Thanks for the compliment but your blog doesn’t seem to be up right now.

  3. Should’ve been there when this album debuted, this was a monster! 5 singles, 5 hits, 5 videos…..the best Crue ever did and supposedly sober as well! My memory is hearing ‘Dr. Feelgood’ on the radio and thinking, “How can they get any bigger?”. Crue was THE band to beat back in the ’80s and they released their best record.

    Best song for me is ‘Same Ol’ Situation’ and maybe ‘Without You’ because it was the song all the girls liked, LOL!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://hardrockheavymetal.wordpress.com/

  4. Oh ‘Dr. Feelgood’ is definitely classic Crue, the rest of album not so much, IMO, regardless of what was a hit.

  5. I am tired of the song DR.FEELGOOD, never realy liked it anyway but the rest of the album is great. SHE GOES DOWN is ultra cool.

  6. Dr. Feelgood

    I don’t know about what you said, there is more than Dr. Feelgood, Without You, SOS, Dr. Feelgood, kickstart, and don’t go away mad are pretty good songs, but Bob Rock made them sound a little less like a hair band, they sounded more heavy metal then hair metal, I like shout at the devil and girlsgirlsgirls the best

Leave a comment