DOKKEN – Lightning Strikes Again

Dokken – Lightning Strikes Again (2008, Rhino Entertainment)

Track Listing:
1. “Standing on the Outside” – 3:52
2. “Give Me a Reason” – 3:50
3. “Heart to Stone” – 3:56
4. “Disease” – 3:30
5. “How I Miss Your Smile” – 4:01
6. “Oasis” – 3:40
7. “Point of No Return” – 4:23
8. “I Remember” – 4:48
9. “Judgment Day” – 4:02
10. “It Means” – 4:42
11. “Release Me” – 5:45
12. “This Fire” – 4:42

Band:
Don Dokken – Lead Vocals
Jon Levin – Guitar
Barry Sparks – Bass
Mick Brown – Drums, Vocals

Produced by: Don Dokken
Coproduced by: Tim David Kelly

I’ve never been a big fan of Dokken. They’re solid, but nothing special in my eyes. I liked the clips for this album that I had heard on their MySpace page though, so I decided to pick this one up. I’ve spun this quite a few times and while the album is fine, it still hasn’t changed my opinion on the band. This is just solid 80s-tinged hard rock, the same stuff Dokken has been doing their whole career.

“Heart to Stone” is the standout track here, everything is pretty much what you’d expect if this was released by Dokken in the 80s, except Don’s voice strains at points. There’s a few modern touches (“Disease”), but overall, the “classic” Dokken sound has been retained.

Highlights: “Standing on the Outside”, “Heart to Stone”, “Disease”, “Oasis”, “Point of No Return”, “It Means”, “Release Me”, “This Fire”

www.dokken.net
www.myspace.com/dokken

Posted on May 27, 2008, in Collection, Dokken and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have this and I swear I am trying really hard to enjoy it. I’ve been a Dokken fan from their debut BREAKING THE CHAINS back in ’83 and this sounds like modern rock with an ’80s nod. Dokken used to be all about big hooks, big choruses, big solos but I’m not hearing that something special that made them a big band back in the day. Ever since Jeff Pilson left I think that Dokken has gone downhill because Jeff is a solid songwriter and singer, he added a ton more to the band than playing bass.

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://hardrockheavymetal.wordpress.com/

  2. This release made me want to pull my hair out. They tried so hard to sound like 80’s Dokken, but Don’s voice sounds like crap. It totally ruined it for me.

  1. Pingback: DOKKEN – Under Lock and Key « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

