MOTLEY CRUE – Shout at the Devil

Motley Crue – Shout at the Devil (1983, Elektra Records; 1999, Motley Records/Beyond Music)

Track Listing:
1. “In the Beginning” [1:13]
2. “Shout at the Devil” [3:16]
3. “Looks That Kill” [4:07]
4. “Bastard” [2:54]
5. “God Bless the Children of the Beast” [1:33]
6. “Helter Skelter” [3:09]
7. “Red Hot” [3:21]
8. “Too Young to Fall in Love” [3:34]
9. “Knock ‘Em Dead, Kid” [3:40]
10. “Ten Seconds to Love” [4:17]
11. “Danger” [3:51]
12. “Shout at the Devil” <Demo> [3:15]
13. “Looks That Kill” <Demo> [5:06]
14. “Hotter Than Hell” <Demo> [2:49]
15. “I Will Survive” [3:19]

Vince Neil – Vocals
Mick Mars – Guitar
Nikki Sixx – Bass
Tommy Lee – Drums

My favorite Motley album. Motley has gone on to become one of my favorite bands, but I didn’t heavily get into them until ’98, when Greatest Hits came out. And a big reason I picked that album up was because WWF was promoting it at the time because they were pushing wrestler Test as a “former bodyguard for Motley Crue”. Motley even did a live performance or two on WWF shows to promote the album.

Anyway, this album is just powerful, decadent and sinister. All things that Motley Crue should be. Mick Mars did a great job on guitar hear and I love his heavy style of playing. His work on the instrumetal “God Bless the Children of the Beast” is spectacular.

The band’s image during this time inspired a lot of the 80s glam scene look. I’m sure Motley is absolutely thrilled about that.

While the album was originally released in 1983, Motley released it on their own label in 1999 adding four bonus tracks from the time the album was being recorded– three demos and a previously unreleased song.

Highlights: Pick a song. Then pick all the rest because this album is an absolute classic for Motley Crue and metal. If you own only one Crue album, this must be it.


Posted on April 26, 2008, in Collection, Motley Crue and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I remember when this album came out. First the imagery with the ‘Looks That Kill’ video and then the “devil worship” stuff with the pentagram and ‘Shout At The Devil’ and this was an album that parents started to take notice. I had already been into the Crue with Too Fast For Love so this was a solid continuation for me. For many of my friends in grade school, this was their first exposure to the band.

    Not a bad song on the record, my favorites would be ‘Red Hot’, ‘Knock’em Dead Kid’, ‘Too Young To Fall In Love’

    Heavy Metal Addiction

  2. sweet album. my brother, 4 yrs. older, and myself, grew up with crue, and bands like kiss, priest, etc., etc. i love them all more now. anyway, “shout” is killer. i like “looks,” “ten seconds,” “kid,” the whole damn thing. “too fast for love,” too.

  1. Pingback: Metal Excess announces MOTLEY CRUE WEEK! « Metal Excess

  2. Pingback: Motley Crue – Red, White & Crue « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: