WARRANT – Cherry Pie

Warrant – Cherry Pie [Expanded Edition] (1990/2004, Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings)

Track Listing:
1. “Cherry Pie” [3:20]
2. “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” [4:01]
3. “I Saw Red” [3:47]
4. “Bed of Roses” [4:04]
5. “Sure Feels Good to Me” [2:39]
6. “Love in Stereo” [3:06]
7. “Blind Faith” [3:33]
8. “Song and Dance Man” [2:58]
9. “You’re the Only Hell Your Mama Ever Raised” [3:34]
10. “Mr. Rainmaker” [3:29]
11. “Train, Train” [2:49]
12. “Ode to Tipper Gore” [:54]
13. Game of War [Demo] [3:38]
14. The Power [Gladiator Mix] [3:00]

Jani Lane – Vocals
Joey Allen – Guitar
Erik Turner – Guitar
Jerry Dixon – Bass
Steven Sweet – Drums

Now this is a true hair metal classic. It was originally released by Columbia in 1990, but I have the “expanded” & remastered version that Columbia released through their Legacy Recordings imprint back in 2004.

This is Warrant’s high-point and it proved they were one of the best bands of the era. Jani Lane’s voice is as strong as is his songwriting on this album. He is extremely underrated as a songwriter and could probably make quite a career out of penning songs for other bands if he ever chose to do. The lyrics are just grand, especially on “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” and “I Saw Red”, which is one of my favorite Warrant songs. It starts off like it’s going to be a lovey dovey power ballad then turns into a tale of love & betrayal, which I found out actually happened to Jani Lane.

“Cherry Pie” is, of course, their signature song. Legend has it that once the record was done, Columbia Records president told them he didn’t see a big hit rock anthem on the record and wanted one, so Jani quickly wrote “Cherry Pie” within the span of 15 minutes and the rest is history. Jani then went on to famously say in VH1’s Heavy: The Story of Metal documentary series that he could shoot himself for writing that song. It was a pretty creepy moment and you almost believed it. Jani has since gone on to say that he was having a “bad day” when he said that.

Anyway, this album is essential for any hair metal fan. The album was labeled explicit thanks to the last track, “Ode to Tipper Gore” which was outtakes of the band cursing live on stage.

As for the bonus tracks, “Game of War” never made it past the demo stage and isn’t really anything special. But hey, it is a demo afterall. “The Power” is kinda cool and is from the 1992 movie Gladiator starring Cuba Gooding Jr.

Highlights: “Cherry Pie”, “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”, “I Saw Red”, “Love in Stereo”, “You’re the Only Hell Your Mama Ever Raised”, “Mr. Rainmaker”, “Ode to Tipper Gore”

Posted on April 21, 2008, in Collection, Warrant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Again, another album that defined high school. I admit that back in the day, I dug a bt of Warrant but now I realize that they are just awful. Notice how the first three songs on the album were the three hit singles? No need to really go beyond track 3. I do like ‘Uncle Tom’s Cabin’, that’s the best Warrant tune of the ’80s.

    Heavy Metal Addiction

  2. Aw, man, sad to hear you’re not a Warrant fan. Granted, none of their albums come close to being as good as this, but I still dig the band. DRSFR was good, Ultraphobic had a few decent tracks (but mostly sucked), and Dog Eat Dog was solid. Even Born Again was pretty good, I’m looking forward to what they can do with Jani back in the band.

  1. Pingback: Warrant – Rockaholic « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: